17237477The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan

Summary from the author:

Lilith Bresson, an independent, successful young artist, is forced to travel from her home in Spain to the wild borderlands of northern England, to repay her feckless father’s latest debt by painting a portrait of the enigmatic Lady Blaine Albermarle.
On her first night at Albermarle Hall she meets Finn Strachan, Blaine’s ‘companion’, a cultured and hauntingly beautiful young man who seems to have it all. But Lilith has an artist’s eye, and a gift for seeing what lies beneath the skin. She soon discovers that Blaine is more gaoler than lover, and if the price is right, depravity has no limits.
As the weeks pass, Lilith finds that she too is drawn into the malign web that her patron has spun, yet against the odds she forges a strong friendship with the damaged, dysfunctional Finn. In a dark, modern twist to an age-old story, Lilith Bresson proves that sometimes it’s the princess who needs to become the rescuer.
Please note that this storyline contains depictions of drug abuse, violence and non-consensual sex.

SassySub Heaux Rating 5 Stars!

I want to start out mentioning that this is not your regular everyday romance novel. This is a very dark, sad and sometimes very demoralizing love story. Some of the scenes may be disturbing to some readers but I promise if you dare to read this book, the story will stay with you for a long time after you have finished reading it.

I honestly have never read a book that grabbed me quite like this one. This is a must read and has become one of my all time favorite books. Finn Strachan has got to be one of the most beautiful human beings on the planet. No matter how horrible his life had become he never totally surrendered his soul to the evil Blaine. There were many times when he wished he could have surrendered but to his own dismay he would live to see another day. And then Lilith Bresson comes into his life. One look at Lilith and something deep inside Finn slowly comes back to life. Lilith is just what Finn needs to bring him back from the dark side.

Tabitha McGowan knocked this one out of the ball park. To me this story is like a modern day Sleeping Beauty of sorts. Except in this version the Hero is the beauty locked away in the dark castle and the Heroine is the beautiful strong willed woman that comes to his rescue with her horses, aka the supporting characters Gabriel James and Nate Carlin. The writing in this book was outstanding. I loved the banter between the characters and I even got to learn some more British slang. I swear I love reading novels written by British writers. The book does end rather abruptly but at least there is no cliff hanger. I really hate cliff hangers sometimes and Tabitha could have tortured us by ending the book sooner and I’m so glad she didn’t. There is a sequel in the works as I type this review but no date as to when that might be released. The ending does wrap up the story nicely but to be honest I really wanted way more Finn. I,m not sure I could ever really have enough Finn.

Bottom line: This is a kick ass story that should be read by everyone. There may be some seriously dark, and appalling, scenes but they are all necessary to make the love these characters find even more beautiful.

My favorite quote from the book:

‘Oh, shut up, you pair of maudlin, defeatist bastards.’ Lilith wriggled from my embrace and sat up, wearing the blanket like a superhero cape. ‘Not everything that happens in this unutterable hole has to end in crushing disappointment and despair, you know.’

 

 

Book Dame here and I too read The Tied Man, and just am going to add a little to Sassysub’s great review.

The Tied Man may not be for everyone due to its dark story but its incredible. At first I was a little put off, by its sad underlining tone and its dark path, but it really makes you think! I mean Finn, is really unimaginably strong not to break and really how much would you do to protect your family. I really don’t think I’ve ever read a book with such an evil and manipulative person and then for her to be female and a mother! It also makes you wonder how much can you watch, even when your trying to do the right thing: really how much can you stand by and watch someone you love be used. Lilith Bresson didn’t sign up for this but when her step brother is threat she has no choice. Throughout this hellish place and time, love is found. This beautiful light peaks in at the darkest moment that really capture the reader. I can’t wait for book 2, a big thank you to Sassy for bring this book to my attention and to Tabitha McGowan for writing it!