The Art of Domination (The Art of D/s #2) By Ella Dominguez – Review by Feisty

The Art of Domination (The Art of D/s, #2)

Warning: Written for mature audiences and includes profanity, graphic sexual encounters, moderate BDSM themes, total power exchange, and mild edgeplay. (Not for the faint of heart)
Romantic, erotic, suspenseful, emotional and humorous.Five months into their intensely physical and BDSM-laced relationship, Dylan is ready to make a lifelong commitment to Isabel. But Isabel has reservations and for good reason as Dylan has continued to remain secretive and closed off about his past.When someone from Dylan’s past makes an unwelcome appearance, he is forced to confront his demons head on as he is threatened with exposure about his sexual proclivities. More concerning is the threat of exposure about how his parents’ death rests on his shoulders. Forced into an awkward situation, Dylan must help the former lover and ex-submissive who threatens to expose him, all while trying to keep it a secret from Isa.

Dylan and Isa embark on a new journey as they take vows to never let anything tear them apart, a journey that tests Isa’s physical and mental limits as Dylan lets his true Dominant and sadistic nature out, giving Isa more artistic inspiration than she ever thought possible. But can Isa keep her own Dominant nature at bay long enough to allow Dylan to fulfill his sadistic fantasies?

With Isa’s upcoming debut gallery show and just when things are heating up, their relationship is threatened when Isa comes face-to-face with Dylan’s past activities with his ex and a woman from his past who won’t let him go.

To make matters worse, Isa’s father tries to force his way back into her life and she finds out just how truly cruel he really is as his secrets are revealed.

With everything that comes to light, can Isa stay true to her vows of for better or worse?

                                                                                  REVIEW
                                                               FEISTY GIVES AOD 4 STARS!
          First of all, this book is not for the faint of heart.  And if you don’t like BDSM scenes, I do not recommend this for you.  That being said, behind all the cautions from the author and myself, this is a beautiful love story.  Dylan and Isa are great together.  He’s a total smart ass and he absolutely loves and adores Isa.  She is kind and honest, loyal and sincere.  She shows him how to love and truthfully he does it well.  He will do anything to keep her safe from her father and the dangers that threaten to harm her.  Dylan is a jerk in my opinion.  But Isa doesn’t see him that way, which is a big reason why I love her character.  She sees him as dominant and determined.  She sees the positive side to most everything despite her violent childhood and her low self-esteem.  She is a very fun, kind, loving character.  She sees the good in him where he doesn’t .  I didn’t like Dylan in Art of Submission.  I wasn’t going to read this installment but my fellow Book Heauxs insisted I do so, and I’m so glad that I did!  He redeemed himself for me.  Yes he’s an ass and pretty harsh at times, but he really softens for Isa.  He loves her with all of his heart and he just wants to be with her.  His nastiness gets in the way sometimes, but he recovers as quickly as he can.
“You want to know what makes me happy?  You do.  Everything about you Isa.  Watching you paint.  Watching you get dressed.  Watching you eat.  The way you move when you think no one is watching you.  Being with you; even when we’re arguing.”  -Dylan Young
        This book is jam packed with tense moments and drama.  It picks up where Art of Submission leaves off.  These two don’t have any time to enjoy each other when it hits the fan, fast.  First Erika makes his life miserable and then it snowballs from there.  He does things to Isa because of Erika that made me hate Erika even more, and I was very angry with Dylan.  He is so afraid of anything happening to Isa that his judgement isn’t the best at first.  Poor Isa is really put through the ringer in this book.  Just about anything that could happen to her does.  She is a strong woman though and she comes through it all beautifully.  I have to say, I love SAWYER!!  OMG, he’s awesome!  I really hope Ella gives him his own book.  His and Dylan’s interactions are hysterical.  Their friendship is based on mutual respect and trust.  In fact Isa calls their relationship a “bromance”.  It really is.  He and Isa are the only two people Dylan trusts in the world.  Sawyer handles Dylan’s temper beautifully.  He’s strong and patient, and loyal.  Ok, so the book isn’t about Sawyer, but I’m hoping one will be soon….!  🙂
        In the end, Dylan and Isa are made for each other.  We learn about his parents and why he became a Dom.  He really opens up to her in the end and it’s so sweet to read.   Seeing this tough guy show such tender emotions is quite heartwarming.   I’ll often finish my other books and think how perfect the couples are for each other.  These two are TRULY made for each other.  They wouldn’t survive not being together.  Each has very specific needs/tastes and the other is more than happy to oblige.  In all honesty, some of the things he does to her are a bit much for me.  Some of the things to me are degrading and  the humiliation part of it is not for me.  I think you’ll know the scenes I’m referring to!   However, there is a sweetness to the story and how these two characters really grow with each other that touched me.  So enjoy and uncover those eyes!  If I can read it, you can too!
Isa – “Did you really mean it when you said I’ve belonged to you my whole life?”
Dylan – “Absolutely.  You’re everything I’ve ever wanted.  I just didn’t know it until I met you.”