Image

Evie and Leo met in foster care as children and formed a bond of friendship. As they grew, their bond turned to love and they vowed to make a life together when they turned 18 and were no longer a part of the system.

When Leo unexpectedly gets adopted as a teen and he moves to another city, he promises Evie that he will contact her as soon as he gets there and come back for her in a few short years. She never hears from him again.

Now eight years later, in spite of the odds, Evie has made a life for herself. She has a job, she has friends, she’s content. Then a man shows up out of the blue, claiming that her long lost love, Leo, sent him to check up on her. The attraction between them is undeniable. But, should she trust this sexy stranger? Or is he keeping a secret about what his connection to Leo is really all about and why Leo disappeared all those years ago?

Book Heaux Rating: 5 STARS!

I literally read this book 4 times before I was able to give it a review. The first time I read it I was a nervous wreck and the 3 other times I read it I searched for clues that would help me understand the twists and turns of this story better.

I was very emotional while I read this story, especially when Evie would remember her time in foster care. The unfortunate events that Evie and the other children experienced were  heart breaking.

Jake is the handsome stranger that knew Leo and came to check on Evie. He is also the reason I had to constantly reread this book! I didn’t trust Jake AT ALL!!!!! And it made me very uneasy. I knew he was a good person, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on exactly what I didn’t trust about him…. I was convinced he was bad news.

“the boy who makes me want to stay awake because reality is finally better than my dreams.”

And then there is Leo, the boy who broke Evie’s heart… AND MINE for that matter.

“He made what would have been a place of nightmares into a place to dream.”

You know you’re reading a damn good book when you feel exactly what the main character feel. I wanted know why Leo disappeared just as badly as Evie did! My heart ached for this girl, I never believed in finding true love as a teenager or a preteen. But I was rooting for Leo and Evie to find their happily ever after as they had planned… And when she said that he never contacted her I was floored.

“the thing about falling in love is that no matter where you are when it happens, you can’t help but to color those moments with beauty, even if you’re in a location of ugliness.”

It may seem like I’m rambling, but this is the best I can do without spoiling anything! I’m sorry!! This book put me through an emotion wringer! I laughed, cried, felt anxious and swooned!

“In the history of the world, nothing has ever been more okay,”

Please pick up this book, you wont regret it! It’s a beautiful story! Normally I pick one or two quotes as my favorites… But there were so many beautiful words spoken in this book, Mia should think about becoming a love song writer as well!

“I will prove to you that forever is not just a word, not just a measurement of unending time, but that forever is a place where I will treasure your heart.”

Excuse me while I add Leo to my Top 10! And make sure you pick it up!

Image