16033906

SassySub Heaux’s Book Rating: 2.5 StarsSummary from the author:

Jace, Ash, and Gabe: three of the wealthiest, most powerful men in the country. They’re accustomed to getting anything they want. Anything at all. For Jace, it’s a woman whose allure takes him completely by surprise…

Jace Crestwell, Ash McIntyre, and Gabe Hamilton have been best friends and successful business partners for years. They’re powerful, they’re imposing, they’re irresistibly sexy, and Jace and Ash share everything—including their women.

When they meet Bethany, Jace begins to feel things he’s never experienced before: jealousy, and a powerful obsession that threatens him, overwhelms him—and excites him beyond control.

Jace isn’t sharing Bethany—with anyone. He’s determined to be the only man in her life, and it’s jeopardizing a lifelong friendship with Ash. Bethany will be his and his alone. Even if it means turning his back on his best friend.

After reading the first book in this series I was very much looking forward to the second book. I downloaded it the minute it was available on Amazon and began to dig into what I thought was going to be another hot and steamy read in this Breathless Trilogy. About five pages into the book I found myself asking “WTF am I reading here?” Why are these two successful business men picking up a homeless chick and taking her home for a night of menage fun? Who would do such a creepy thing? I have read many books by Maya Banks and have loved every single one of them however this book not so much! I hated it at times. The story was a drag and I had to force myself to get through the pages. I cried tears for the time I lost reading this book. Most of the time I could only read a handful of pages because it was so boring it ended up putting me to sleep. I’m a night owl. I love staying up til 2 or 3am reading my hot and steamy erotica books but I swear, on all that is holy, this book had me turning the lights out before midnight every time I picked it up. Sure, there were some steamy hot sex scenes that were mildly entertaining but there seriously was nothing that grabbed my attention in this story. The story line was ridiculous and sometimes even offensive. There was nothing believable about the story line. Please people don’t waste your time with this book. I could go on for days about how much I dislike this book and how unrealistic it was but that would be just as boring as reading the book itself. So I will spare you and I’ll just stop talking about it now. I enjoyed the first book in this series but this second book I do not recommend, unless of course you like sleep inducing sex scenes and unbelievable story lines. I am sorry Maya Banks but I am extremely disappointed. I will more than likely not bother with the third, and final book, in the series. I have bigger and better fish to fry as they say. I will say one last thing: THIS. WAS. PAINFUL. That is all. (My shout out to BookLover Jess who held my hand through the last few painful pages. LOL)

Favorite Quote from the book (I’m really surprised I was able to find one): 
“You’re so sweet and forgiving,” he said in an aching voice. “I don’t deserve you but I want you more than I want to breathe. And I’m never letting you go, baby.” “Don’t, then,” she whispered into his neck. “Don’t let me go, Jace. I’m lost without you.” “You’ll never be lost, baby. Never again. I’ll always find you. No matter where you go, I’ll always be there to bring you home.”