L.D. Davis is the New York Times Bestselling author of the novel Accidentally On Purpose and the novella Pieces Of Rhys. L.D. began writing at a very young age with consistent support from teachers and friends. When she was only thirteen years old, she wrote her first romantic novella. A few years later at the age of nineteen, she completed another. Always writing, but never attempting to publish, L.D. left many projects unfinished over the years, but when she was thirty-four years old, she self-published her first full-length novel, Accidentally On Purpose. L.D. is currently working on two more books to go along with Accidentally On Purpose, two more projects to go along with Pieces Of Rhys, and several other novels.

L.D. has a serious addiction to reading, especially contemporary romance novels. She also loves the work of Dean Koontz, Janet Evanovich and classics like Lord Of The Rings and Jane Austen’s novels. She lives in a small East Coast town with her five children and husband.

*giveaway link at the bottom*

Accidentally On Purpose was one of the first books that The Book Heaux’s (All 6 of us) read at the same time. Our facebook page was on fire and we were seriously divided. In the end we were all traumatized and decided to put that book away until we could get out minds together! LOL!!! Two weeks later, we were able to wrap our brains around that phenomenal book, and we all agreed that it was one of the best books we have ever read! Now we get to interview L.D. Davis! How awesome is that?

Hello L.D!!! Thank you so much for agreeing to do this interview, and also for letting us host your blog tour!! Accidentally On Purpose is my favorite book to date!

1. Where did you come up for the plot for AOP?

Sometimes dialogue just pops into my head and I build from there. I was on my way to work one night and I was listening to Ready To Start by Arcade Fire. Something about the song played right with the dialogue going on in my head and I started writing it that night on my lunch break. Sorry, it wasn’t an exciting epiphany that started it!

2. Are any parts of this book based on real life events? I.E. The overbearing mother? LOL! 

My own mother was not overbearing, but I have some overbearing family members! Em’s aversion to stripes is my own aversion to stripes – not what you were looking for huh? Want the juicy stuff then? Okay, here it goes: I’ve been in some sticky situations in my past. Emmy’s flaws are or at one time were some of my own. I have been in her shoes, but I’ve also been in Luke’s shoes. I’ve had my own Kyle before, too. My personal life is…well…personal, but I will say I’ve used my own experiences and the experiences of people I know to build the story.

3. It seemed like Em was holding back from the readers throughout most of the book, was that intentional? ( I won’t get specific because I don’t want to spoil anything.)

It was entirely intentional. I like surprises. Some assumed that I kind of threw certain things in at the last minute as a way to tie up loose ends, but I should warn you that I don’t always care about loose ends. Life has loose ends sometimes. It was one hundred percent intentional.

4. Did you always know who Em would end up with in the end?

Yes, I did. 

5. What can your fans expect next from you? Will we see Em and Luke again?

I have at least two more books with some of these characters – I’m working on getting a book about Kyle out soon and Tabitha has a story to tell, too (and I WILL tie up a loose end regarding her role in AOP). I actually started her book first, but I got the idea for AOP and couldn’t stop writing it. We will see some of Em and Luke in Kyle’s book, but I have some ideas about them I may execute in the near future. I’m also consistently working on several other books. One of them is a little dark…

6. What was the hardest part of writing this book?

Finding the time to write it between home life, a job, and schooling.

7. What was your favorite scene?

I think my favorite scene in the entire book was…getting dirty in the kitchen after the gala! It’s a toss-up between that and the whole stripes and gelatin conversation. 

8. Do you think Kyle can be redeemed? Us Book Heaux’s called him some pretty shitty names while we read Accidentally On Purpose! LOL!

Of course he can be redeemed! Some will have a hard time forgiving him, and the fact of the matter is he may never be forgiven by some, but I totally think he’s redeemable. I’m trying to prove it to you!

Speed Round… Don’t think, just answer!

Celebrity crush:

Right now, it’s Hugh Jackman. A semi naked Hugh Jackman….

ImageImage

Weirdest phobia:

Fruit suspended in gelatin or anything resembling it. Those gel candles with chunks of fruit in it, anything lodged where it shouldn’t be – oh I have to stop. My skin is crawling.

The best time of the day for sex:

As I’m waking up 😉

I’m totally addicted to:

Reading. I go through withdraw without a good book.

Marriage is:

Complicated.

The best compliment I’ve been given was:

“You’re a good mom.”

The most important lesson I’ve learned about love:

It’s dangerous, life-altering, and frustrating…and I can’t live without it.

If I could pick four people to have dinner with, dead or alive, I’d choose:

Believe it or not, this is a difficult question to answer! I don’t even like people like that….Ummm….Okay, no thinking right?

Okay. Off the top of my head: Jared Leto (Thirty Seconds To Mars)

Image

Samuel L. Jackson (because he’s freakin’ funny)

Image

Jane Austen (because Mr. Darcy probably had a Red Room of Pain and you all know it)

Image

Shemar Moore (because I would love for him to profile me).

ImageImageImage

Sex on the first date:

How about a handshake? Wait, I don’t know where your hand has been…

The illegal thing I would do if I could get away with it:

I am an angel. I would never do anything illegal like chaining my favorite authors to a desk in my basement and make them write for me 16 hours a day.

The quality I most like in a man:

An eloquent and sexy way of speaking. I know that sounds dumb, but words are like sex for the ears. I’m just saying.

The comfort food I crave most:

Comfort food…chicken and dumplings. No ice-cream. Umm…can’t decide. Both?

The best gift I’ve ever been given was:

Words…There isn’t any physical item that can compare to the power of someone’s words.

Most Embarrassing moment:

My five year old daughter answered the phone recently (she’s not supposed to). Just before handing me the phone she asked me if I farted. The guy on the other end heard the whole conversation…(by the way, I really didn’t – she did and she was trying to blame me).

I feel sexiest when:

I’m dressed up for a night out.

5 book boyfriends (yes only 5):

Chris from Without Regret in the Pyte/Sentinel series by R.L. Mathewson

Image

Gideon Cross from the Crossfire novels by Sylvia Day;

Image

Travis Maddox in Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Image

Jake Wethers from The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle;

Image

Reid Andrews from Seducing Cinderella by Gina L. Maxwell

Image

Favorite drink:

Got hooked on Malibu Breeze recently.

If you could be any character in fiction, whom would you be?

This is a hard question…but I think I would be….Oh! Stephanie Plum, because who couldn’t use a Ranger or Morelli in her life?

If you could be a superhero, what would you want your superpowers to be?

Invisibility, flying, and drop dead sexiness.

How would you describe yourself in three words?

 Blunt, sarcastic, loyal

 And of course,

I’m A_Book__Heaux!

This has been fun! Thanks again for your time!! 🙂

Where to find L.D. Davis:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LDDavisWrites

GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5817154.L_D_Davis

Giveaway Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/79cd270/