INTO THE DEEP (Into the Deep #1) by Samantha Young

Live young. Live hard. Love deep.

Charley Redford was just an ordinary girl until Jake Caplin moved to her small town in Indiana and convinced her she was extraordinary. Almost from day one Jake pulled Charley into the deep and promised he was right there with her. But when a tragic incident darkened Jake’s life he waded out into the shallows and left Charley behind.

Almost four years later Charley thinks she’s moved on. That is until she takes a study year abroad in Edinburgh and bumps into none other than Jake Caplin at a party with his new girlfriend. The bad-boy-turned-good attempts to convince Charley to forgive him, and as her best friend starts spending time with Jake’s, Charley calls a truce, only to find herself tumbling back into a friendship with him.

As they grow closer, the spark between them flares and begins playing havoc with their lives and relationships. When jealousy and longing rear their destructive heads, Charley and Jake struggle to come to grips with what they mean to one another.

And even if they work it out, there is no guarantee Charley will ever trust Jake to lead her back into the deep…

REVIEW BY FEISTY:  FIVE STARS!!!

I love how Samantha Young writes.  I fell in love with her writing in On Dublin Street.  I came across INTO THE DEEP and I’m so glad that I did!!  If you think you loved her writing before, then get ready for this amazing book!  It’s as heartwarming as it is heartbreaking.  You will fall in love with these characters and have a hard time letting them go.  Even the supporting characters are fantastic!!

” All I know is that you probably deserve better than me, but I’m too selfish to let you.  I’m into you, and I want you to be so into me, you don’t even care that I’m not good enough for you.”  – Jake

The story follows Charley Redford and Jake Caplin.  Two sixteen year olds that fall madly in love with each other.  Jake is new to town and quickly discovers Charley.  We get to see their romance in High School and how close they become.  They become each other’s everything and their relationship quickly intensifies as only young love can.

” I love you too, Charley.  I’ve been in love with you since our first date, and every day since I’ve fallen deeper and deeper for you.”

Then a senseless tragedy happens and it puts Jake in a very dark place to where he pulls away from Charley.  He won’t let her in to help him and soon he breaks her heart worse than she can ever imagine.  The story is told in increments of time.  The past and present are woven perfectly as the puzzle is slowly put together.  Each time period mirrors each other and we get to see how these two are so intensely connected.

We see the story told through Charley’s POV and we get to experience the innocent, funny young sixteen year old fall deeply in love with the new boy in town.  They are both faced with the thought that they have found “the one” at such a young age and Charley fears there is too much time for them to loose what they have.  We also get to see the twenty year old young woman who is still heartbroken by the loss of her first love and has never gotten over him.  Her trust has been shattered and coming across him again almost four years later, she has to figure out how to forgive and move forward.

“I knew after weeks of meeting you that I was never going to love another girl like I love you.  You’re it for me.  They write books about what we have.”  

This story is so fantastic that I still am thinking about it.  The intensity of their attraction leaves you breathless and their times together leave you wanting more.  I highly recommend this book!  The second installment, and the conclusion to Jake and Charley’s story is titled Out of the Shallows and is due out January 31, 2014.  TOO LONG!!  But I will wait as patiently as I can for the rest of their story!

“peace….that comes with feeling complete, and I haven’t felt that way since I was seventeen and I walked away from a girl who could make me laugh harder, feel harder and burn harder than any other person in my world.”  

Synopsis of Out of the Shallows:

LIVE YOUNG. LIVE HARD. LOVE DEEP.
Jake and Charley’s story concludes in Out of the Shallows…
Somehow, after everything they’ve been through, Jake Caplin and Charley Redford have made their way back to one another. But finding each other and staying together are two completely different things. As Charley fights for the future she wants for herself and with Jake, parents, exes, friends, and her own distrust, are resolved to yank her back into the real world.
While Jake is determined how deeply they feel for one another will get them through their issues, Charley has to wonder… is love alone really ever enough?
Release date: January 31st 2014
How to contact Samantha Young:
FACEBOOK PAGES:
MAIN PAGE— https://www.facebook.com/pages/Samantha-Young/2158085752291077
SERIES PAGE—https://www.facebook.com/OnDublinStreetTWITTER: @SYoungSFauthorGOODREADS: Http://goodreads.com/SamYoung