After years of bad relationships and a cheating ex-fiancé, twenty-eight-year-old Mia Martinelli prefers healing her patients’ hearts on the Cardiac Care floor rather than risking having her heart broken again. But that all comes to a screeching halt when caring for the head roadie for Runaway Train puts her into the orbit of drummer and Latin Lover, AJ Resendiz. After a scorching weekend of steamy passion, Mia’s intention of getting out with her heart unscathed is challenged by the stud with the wicked sense of humor, especially when he wants to continue seeing her. But when the harsh reality of AJ’s hoard of female admirers sends her insecurities into overdrive, Mia bails, leaving him handcuffed to his bathroom shower.

AJ never imagined that after two weeks of the best sex and female companionship he’d ever experienced, he would need rescued by his band mates from his shower prison. Although he tries to forget the sensual brunette whose curves made his mouth water, AJ can’t get her out of his mind…or his heart. Months later when he finally seeks Mia for answers as to why she left, nothing could prepare him for their life-altering reunion.

Can AJ prove to Mia that regardless of the women after his body, his heart belongs only to her?

Feisty Review – 4.5 stars!

Hot, Hot, Hot is all  have to say about AJ Resendiz!   First, if you haven’t read Music of the Heart, I highly recommend that you do.  You will understand the characters and the dynamics, not to mention you will enjoy the story so much more.  I loved AJ from the very start when I first met him on the tour bus in Music.  Don’t yell, but I kinda liked him for Abby… Stop yelling because I really like she and Jake together.  REALLY!!  They are great together and she is exactly what he needs.   I will be upfront, they are my favorite couple, even though I really like AJ.  I can’t wait for their novella to come out – due in December, which will lead into Rhys’s book in the spring.  Just a little shameless KA plug!   Beat of the Heart flows really well.  The scenes are seamless and it’s a beautifully told love story.  Their love story is very different from Abby and Jake’s – they had such a deep emotional connection before they became physical.  NOT the hot Latin Lover and his Sicilian lady!!  AJ is very sensual  and get ready for lots and lots of hot, sweaty lovin!  This is Katie Ashley’s steamiest book yet – way to go Katie!

I LOVE the boys of Runaway Train!  They make you want to hang out with them, drink beer around a bonfire, ride ATVs, have smores…. (you’ll get my references after you read this gem!)  Each and every one of them is fantastic!  Some of my favorite scenes were when the boys were together.  Ok, so back to AJ and Mia.  Have I mentioned that I love AJ?  My mantra during the book was “he’s fiction, he’s fiction, he’s fiction!”.  To me he’s the male version of Abby.  Let me explain.  He comes from a good, loving family with little to no baggage.  He handles all the situations really well.  He doesn’t play games and he gets to the point.  There is little to no misunderstandings with him – IF Mia would stop running!!  She drove me crazy!  She is not my favorite female lead and maybe it’s that I don’t think anyone is good enough for AJ.   She has a troubling past that keeps her from trusting him.  And she continually lets her past interfere with her present and future with him.  He knows all about her past and he is always trying to convince her that he’s not like the others.  That he’s different.  THIS IS AJ  we’re talking about and he couldn’t be sweeter and sexier and more honest with her.  I don’t know why he kept chasing her but he does.  I really wanted to like her, I came around a tiny bit in the end.

There are so many fun things that happen for all of them in this book.  Reading this, you feel like part of their gang, their family.  Oh and guess who makes a surprise appearance, ya, I’m not telling!  You’ll have to find out when you read the book!  Finishing this book I was really happy and really down at the same time.  I loved how it ended, but my friends have left for a bit, until Jake and Abby come back with more of their story.  There are some stories that when it’s over, you really miss the characters.  This group of great guys and their girls, well, they’ve stuck with me and I enjoy being with them each and every time.  In the end this is a feel good romance with hot sex.  Does it get better than that?