18929979

 

After eight years in prison, twenty-four year old Jordan Kane is the man everyone loves to hate.

Forced to return to his hometown while on parole, Jordan soon learns that this small town hasn’t changed since he was carted off to juvie all those years ago. He is the local pariah, shunned by everyone, including his own parents. But their hatred of him doesn’t even come close to the loathing he feels every time he looks in the mirror.

Working odd jobs for the preacher lady, Jordan bides his time before he can leave this backwards town. But can distance erase the memories that haunt him? Trapped in the prison of his own mind Jordan wonders if the pain of living will ever subside?

Torrey Delaney is new in town and certainly doesn’t behave in a way the locals believe a preacher’s daughter should. Her reputation for casual hook-ups and meaningless sex is the talk of the town. Add that to her budding friendship with the hardened ex-con handyman, and the good Reverend is less than thrilled with her estranged daughter’s path.

As friendship forms, is it possible for two damaged people who are afraid to love take their relationship to the next level? Can Torrey live with Jordan’s demons, and can Jordan break through Torrey’s walls? With the disapproval of a small town weighing heavily on them, will they find their place in the world? Can they struggle against the odds, or will their world be viciously shattered?

Is love a life sentence?

 

Feisty – 5 plus stars!!

First of all, anything Jane writes, I will read willingly and read it fast!  There’s something about her writing that gets to me every time.  Some of her books start out slowly and you think, “this is good” and then it grabs you and you realize you can’t stand doing anything but be in the world she has created and not reading is NOT an option.  Others grab you instantly.  For me, LIFERS was the kind that slowly works it’s way into you and doesn’t let go.  I read this book weeks ago and I’m still thinking about it.

Jordan Kane is one of the sweetest, most wonderful characters I have read about.  He is so cute and you want to just hug him and squeeze him – among other things….  But really, he’s just so sweet and so unsure of himself that you want nothing more than to show him he is worthy of life and of love and of anything good that comes his way.  He’s been in prison for 8 years and he really doesn’t know how to function in life on the outside.

“In prison I’d kept to myself; out here, I didn’t know what the boundaries were anymore.  It was a game of life where I didn’t know the rules and couldn’t work them out –  and I was losing.  Big time.”

Torrey Delaney is a 24 year old who has a college education and has hit a dead end due to circumstances at her previous job.  She’s at a turning point in her life and she needs to find out which way to go.

“Waiting tables wasn’t exactly my dream job, and not where I thought I would be at 24 years of age with an expensive college degree several years behind me.”

When the two meet, Torrey is immediately attracted to Jordan.  She doesn’t know who he is or what he’s done.  All she sees is a shy, very good looking guy who she wants to get to know.   Ultimately when she finds out his story, she doesn’t care.  She doesn’t judge him at all.  Torrey wants to be there for him and let him know that she cares about him.

“Here, everyone knows my story and has decided I’m trash.”  “Except me,” she said.

Torrey’s mom is the town’s minister and she runs the church.  She is the only one who will give Jordan a job.  The town is horrible to him and the people are either ignoring him or harassing him.  Jordan and Torrey’s friendship starts out slow and there is instant attraction but not instant love.  It slowly builds as time goes on and their trust of one another deepens.

“You’re not alone now,” she said.  And I felt it.  I felt it in her words, in her voice and in her body.  I closed my eyes.  I WASN’T ALONE ANYMORE.   – Jordan Kane

When I was with her, for the first time in a long while, I didn’t feel judged. I couldn’t figure out why, but she seemed to accept me for who I was. Not that I knew what that meant anymore, but she made me feel alive.  –  Jordan

I could quote this book all day long.  Because it is one of the sweetest stories I’ve read.  Jordan’s parents are awful to him, just like everyone else.  And Torrey rescues him from so much.  And he rescues her just as much.  Their love is slow in coming but when it does, you know and feel that it’s forever.

“I love you.” I said. “What we have, you and me, it’s what I thought love should be, but I’d stopped believing it existed.”  – Jordan

This book started out slowly for me, but it picked up and never let go.  It’s such a beautiful story and it really makes you think.  At least it really made me think and made me think about how we look at people and assume we know their story and really, most of the time, we have no idea.  We have no idea what someone has been through to get to where they are.  And we have no idea the struggles some may be going through.  Please read LIFERS, you will not be disappointed and you can become a fan girl of Jane Harvey-Berrick just like me!