22848383

Surviving Broken ~ A Mathews Family Novel
~ Sometimes you have to go through hell to find your heaven ~

Releasing September 29, 2014

Most women have a wish list when it comes to what kind of man they want to date. JC Mathews used a strict set of guidelines as a safety net to keep herself out of trouble and out of love.

On hiatus from the bright lights and speculative gazes of her career in the fashion industry, JC lets her guard down…only to the wrong man. After escaping Italy and the hands of her abuser, she returns to Malibu to recover. The last thing she expects to find is a large, gorgeous intruder swimming naked in her pool.

Reed Rider left Texas and his broken heart behind in order to settle his aunt’s affairs after her death. Seeking refuge from the California heat for a midnight swim in his neighbor’s backyard, he never expects to find a nude silhouette of a long-haired beauty standing at the water’s edge.

As their passion ignites and the pages of JC’s rulebook fade to grey, she unlocks her guarded heart to begin a new chapter in her life. When hidden truths are exposed and secrets unravel, will they survive the threats from their broken pasts?

5 STARS

Review by Book Dame

I use the term “series” loosely, but I love this series! They are a must read! I know series has become a dreaded word to the reader but have no worries with this one. Especially because there are no cliffhangers, and each book is about a different character. Yet, I always want more of each book! I’d probably be okay if they all were a 3 book series!

This book is no different, I knew JC’s story would be good- great even. Not for one minute did I see it playing out as it did. I feel like there’s a million things to say, but then each and everyone is a bit of a spoiler. So this book is a bit hard to review. I will tell you that it has HEA, and my emotions were all over the place reading this story. At times I wanted to rip the pages out (which would of been impossible since I read on a kindle). But in the end I trusted the author and knew she would make it all work, and she did! JC story played out as it should, and the ride was one that will stick with me. As always with Mrs. Preston’s books I got to last page and wanted more! I stared at the finally paragraph willing it to go on. And when that didn’t work, I reset it and started it all over again! Amazing story, from a gifted writer!